Tags

, , , ,

Stitch Freak: q&a with Carla MadrigalCarla Madrigal, owner and stitcher behind Madrigal Embroidery, embellishes vintage items, giving them a new life in her colorful, creative style. She stitches original pieces too, and her work, well, it just makes me happy!

Also, she seems to love cats as much as I do. Total respect. I’m thrilled to host her on Stitch Freak.

When did you start doing needlework and why?
During the heyday of the sixties I embroidered on Levi 501’s and the collar and pockets of blue work shirts. It began with knee patches on the Levi’s and grew from there. I have always been drawn to textiles so it seemed a natural move for me to re-visit embroidery on a different level after leaving my eight to five as a geologic/environmental illustrator.

Stitch Freak: q&a with Carla MadrigalHow would you describe the style of your work?
Whimsical and colorful

Name three things that inspire you…
Trees, telephone poles, city views, animals and nature, pretty much anything that catches my eye

When was the last time you belly-laughed and why?
A few weeks ago, sharing life stories with my friend Susan. Life can be funny, even the worst of times sometimes have a bit of buried humor.

Where do you do your needlework (in a sewing room, on your patio, in front of the TV, etc.)?
Natural light indoors or out is the best but I do have a good lamp for working indoors and tend to spread my spools of floss out on the bed. I try to be neat but it doesn’t seem to be in my makeup. Victor,my ten month old cat likes to steal off with the spools.

Stitch Freak: q&a with Carla MadrigalOk, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five items do you hope to have with you?
Books, good coffee, flowers, my cats Jack, Vincent, and Victor, and all my embroidery supplies

What is your favorite kind of needlework to do (or your favorite item to embroider)?
Embroidery out of my head

Thank you, Carla! Check out Carla’s etsy shop here.

xoxo, Shannon

