Tags

, , , ,

1

Meet Miriana, creator behind Dollitude, which is where Miriana sells her lovely textile creations.

Cameo fabric brooch, Dolli Tude 2

When did you start sewing/embroidering and why?
I have always enjoyed creating, little surprises for my friends when I was younger, drawing, fascination and experimentation with clay 🙂 etc.It makes me happy and keeps me sane. I’ve been making my litttle dolls on and off for about four years but for the last year this is what I do constantly.

How would you describe the style of your work?
I would rather describe what I want my creations to convey – , the little joys you find in everyday life and beauty in simple things around, the good nature in people and animals, empathy, inspiration end striving to be a better person, add a pinch of melancholy too.

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 2.06.57 PM
Name three things that inspire you…
Good sense of humor, old houses and charming places that make you feel like a little child, exploring and pushing your imagination in different directions, good, hardworking people.

When was the last time you belly-laughed and why?
I am not exactly sure but probably it was over making some silly joke.

Where do you do your work (in a sewing room, on your patio, in front of the TV, etc.)?
I am usually working in my room, facing East. There are a lot of windows, I am sitting on my table and in the summer on the balcony too.

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 2.09.11 PM

Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five items do you hope to have with you?
Well, on a not so serious note, coffee would be good, things for sewing and drawing 🙂

What is your favorite kind of item to sew?
I like to experiment with more free things where there are loose ends and rough edges.

Your teeny characters have such personality. How do you come up with their designs?
I like to imagine as if they have real adventures and personalities, I enjoy thinking of concepts for them , not just a doll but something to suggest a story behind so the little creature could carry a life of its own. I like my creations to evoke some feelings in people 🙂

Anything you’d like to add:
To put a smile on a face would be a pleasure.

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 2.11.14 PM

Thank you, Miriana! The pleasure is ours. For more, check out Dollitude and Miriana’s flickr collection. Her blog is here.

xoxo, Shannon

