Tags

, , , , , ,

Makiko1Oksana Kokovkina of Makiko is a creator of cute things. Her designs are often childlike and always imaginative. I first encountered her brooches on etsy and fell in love with her light-hearted style.

Brooch - The French Dog, Funny Dogs - collection, hand embroideredI’m delighted to host her on Stitch Freak!

When did you start sewing/embroidering and why?
I am from an artist family, and have always been painting or creating. My way as an active artist began around 2007, where I made my first coffee rabbit and started playing around with fiber arts. One year later I needed a brooch for a dress and so I embroidered my very first brooch, which I unfortunately never managed to wear, but this was the beginning of my Makiko brooches.

Brooch with horse - I love circus, hand embroidered
How would you describe the style of your work?
My works are naive, as if they are taken from kids paintings, sometimes a little childish, and romantic. Some works are different, as I am always looking for something new.

Name three things that inspire you…
Nature (especially dogs ;), words and daily occurrences, and works of other artists, classic, contemporary or folk arts.

Dollhouse "Venice Palazzo Attic with Leo and Rabbit Marco", OOAK
What was the last good book you read? Why did you like it?
Oh, it’s a complicated question…I realised that in the last months I am reading mostly on the web—blogs and papers about arts and psychology. On my bed table I currently have Ray Bradbury, which I am actually re-reading. I love books and I am collecting children’s books, mainly because of their illustrations and sometimes because of the story, like in “Kuky se vrací,” a great story about a teddy bear, by czech author.

Where do you do your work (in a sewing room, on your patio, in front of the TV, etc.)?
I have occupied the largest room in our house, the living room, where I can watch some TV, hook into PC as for an audio book, or listen to the birds in our mini garden.
hello
Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five items do you hope to have with you?
needle, thread, piece of a cloth, dark chocolate, and it would be great to have a pet :)))

What is your favorite kind of item to stitch?
I love all of them 🙂 Just give me a surface to work on…

Your plush characters have such personality. How do you come up with their designs?
They come by themselves. But I like to watch people and animals, to remember their characteristics, as everyone has something unique, and then a combination of these is popping out in my work. 🙂

Cat Alastair and his terrier ScottieAnything else you’d like to add:
I wish to all stitch freaks, as well as normal people, inspiration, every day find new and interesting things, and courage for realization of your ideas.

P.S. Soon I will be releasing new works from my project “Vintage Botany,” that I made for a exhibition in Artistic Doll Studio in Tallinn. All works for this project were naturally hand dyed. It was a very interesting process, a little bit magic!

Thanks, Oksana, for sharing some of your magic with us!

Check out the Makiko shop here and Oksana’s website here.

xoxo, Shannon

