Tags

, , , , , ,

I can’t get enough of books about embroidery, doll-making, plush-making, etc. They’re all inspiring even if at first glance they don’t seem like they would be. These are some in which I’ve found lasting inspiration for my own stitching. Thank god there are people out there who know what they’re doing…

There are some awesome interviews in this one.

From the masters of doll-making.

Learning about line in textile art.

When I got into embroidery a couple of years ago (the first time I picked up needle and thread since elementary school), this was the first book I checked out of the library.

The opportunity to view Carol Shinn’s art alone makes this book worth owning and the advice and inspiration are great too.

shinnI also treasure a Better Homes and Gardens needlework book from the 80s. I picked it up for 75 cents at a garage sale and I come back to it over and over.

xoxo, Shannon

