Tags

, , , , ,

Speckless I came across Heidi’s work on etsy and after perusing her shop, Speckless, I invited her to do a q&a. I mean, her work is lovely and I was convinced to get in touch with her the moment I laid eyes on that David Bowie hoop. Majestic. It’s a pattern, so lucky us, we can make it too!

When did you start crocheting and embroidering and why?
I did my first embroidery at about age 7, but started to do crochet and embroidery and craft in earnest about 13 years ago. Mostly because I was in college for art and wanted a new challenge (artistically).

Binary Folk Embroidery Pattern

 

How would you describe the style of your work?
This is hard, as I don’t aim for a style per se, and it’s difficult to critique your work when you are so engrossed in it. Can I say “necessity” is my style? 99% of what I make is made out of necessity. As in, I think of something I want and either can’t find what I’m looking for, or I find what I want and it is too expensive. The shawl I made for my wedding is a small example of this: http://speckless.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/cold-shoulders/

Name three things that inspire you…
books, vintage patterns (crochet, embroidery, sewing), everyday life and all its minutiae
Merit Badges Mini Embroidery Patterns
What was the last great book you read and why did you like it?
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. It’s hilarious and horrifying, and I relate to Jenny quite a bit. I think perhaps Jenny Lawson is my spirit animal (Is that weird? Yes, of course it is, Heidi). Her blog is here and it’s worth a good look: http://thebloggess.com/
Where do you do your work (in a crafting room, on your patio, in front of the TV, etc.)?
Either on the couch in front of the TV or listening to music . . . or in the car. We travel a lot.
Colorful Pot Holder Set Crochet Pattern
Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five items do you hope to have with you?
Ha! That’s not fair! I’m assuming you mean inanimate items and that my husband and my cat don’t count? Solar-powered satellite radio. A stack of sketchbooks and pencils or pens (can that count as one?). Wireless internet and a solar-powered laptop. Can I have a solar-powered Vitamix for making deserted-island-fruit smoothies (I’m not much for seafood)? Please? I’m bad at this one!
But I’ll take Nicky and Penny over all of those things, if it’s allowed! My practical brain says I should hope for a helicopter, lots of fuel, and a helicopter-flying-manual.
What is your favorite kind of item to stitch or crochet?
Whatever’s next! I love starting new projects, making up patterns, and learning new stitches and techniques — the challenge of the unknown is what is most exciting. Always, I feel like I can’t work fast enough because I can’t wait to see how my new project turns out . . . then on to the
next!
Twin Peaks Tribute Embroidery Pattern Set
Tell us about your love for Twin Peaks. It obviously inspired you to create some patterns!
Well, who doesn’t love Twin Peaks? I guess I’m fascinated by things that are strange and beautiful and surreal and repulsive all at once. Things that are more gut-feeling than literal, a little self-contained world — like a Joyce Carol Oates novel or a Francis Bacon painting or a Joseph Cornell box. I was in a Twin-Peaks-watching spiral and I wanted to make some Twin Peaks embroidery . . . but couldn’t find any patterns. See question number four!
Good Chemistry Mini Embroidery Pattern
Thanks, Heidi! Check out more of Heidi’s work in her shop.
xoxo, Shannon
