Tags

, , , , , , ,

BozenaI freaked out about Polish textile artist and expert quilter Bozena Wojtaszek recently and realized, of course, that I needed to know more about her and possibly stalk her a little because her work is so beautiful. She graciously agreed to be interviewed and tell us a little bit about herself and her process.

When did you start sewing/quilting and why?
I started sewing as a child because my grandmother taught me and I loved it from the first stitch. My serious interest in quilting started in 1996 when I discovered books about American quilts and online communities of quilters.

Art Quilt, HARVEST TIME, Fine Textile Art, Housewarming Decoration

How would you describe the style of your art work?
It mostly depends on what inspires me at the moment. There are visible connections in my pieces between folk art or botanical art and medieval art as well. I like to add modern twist to traditional motifs

Name three things that inspire you…
nature, art and food

Contemporary Art Quilt, Modern Textile Art, Grey Wall Hanging, Home Decor

Do you have a favorite film? Why is it your favorite?
I love movies in general. Both “A man and a woman” by Lelouch (because of the story) and “How to make an American quilt” by Moorhouse (because of Winona). And many more.

Where do you do your work (in a sewing room, on your patio, in front of the TV, etc.)?
Unfortunately I don’t have a separate space for making art so I work in living room or on the balcony if the weather allows.

SPRING TREE, Small Purse, Silk Clutch, Beaded Handbag, Uncommon Purse

Ok, you’re stranded on a desert island. Which five items do you hope to have with you?
Needle, thread, piece of fabric and two books

What is your favorite kind of item to stitch?
decorative wall-hanging

b2When you start to create an art quilt, do you draw it first? What is your process like?
If I know the exact story I want to sew, I make a rough sketch but mainly I just start with fabric and it tells me what to do next.

What do you hope people will come away with after engaging with your work?
With joy and good emotions!

b3Anything else you’d like to add:
Making art is a big joy for me and the best result is when people can resonate with my feelings and good thoughts involved.

Art Quilt Wall Hanging, Contemporary Art Quilt, Modern art quilt, Fiber art quilt, Wall Decor, home office, Handmade art quilts, pink grey

Thanks, Bozena! Check out Bozena’s blog and etsy shop to see more of her work.

xoxo, Shannon

